Meeting with Charly

I have always been passionate about cooking.

 

I was born and spent a large part of my childhood in Senegal, where I came from love for the smell, the colors and the freshness of my grandmother's cooking. I then grew up in the south of France which is the country of gastronomy. I developed my passion for cooking and its flavors there.

 

My first professional experience in the world of gastronomy dates back to my sixteenth birthday. I worked in Monaco for several years, in large tables such as the Quai des Artistes , the Café de Paris , Zebra Square or even Freddy's. So many beautiful addresses that allowed me to develop my love for Mediterranean, Provencal and Italian cuisine.

 

My passion for cooking has also allowed me to travel around the world. First country, the Netherlands and more precisely Goes , a small seaside town with atypical charm. I then had the chance to board the Crystal Serenity , a five-star cruise liner where I discovered the Caribbean and the United States.

 

Fallen in love with New York, I decided to try my luck there. Entered the kitchens of the Stanton Street Kitchen restaurant , I spent a few years there chaining experiences and memories. My trip was notably marked by my entry into La Mirabelle, an authentic French restaurant which gave me my chance and the freedom to demonstrate my talents.

 

Once the clientele was seduced, I wanted to try a new experience: chef at home. My New York clients trusted me and entrusted me with their cuisine, in which I was able to develop new recipes and test new flavors.

 

Back to basics. Back in my darling South. Despite my travels, I have not forgotten my roots and my love for Provencal cuisine. Installed at the Ogram restaurant, rue Dante in Nice, I continue to bring my personal touch, especially with my dishes inspired by Senegalese cuisine. I like to cook my Chicken Yassa , a dish marinated in onions, lemon and Dijon mustard. An explosion of flavors for the taste buds of my loyal guests.

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

© 2020 par OGRAM Restaurant

Rencontre avec Charly

J’ai toujours été passionné par la cuisine.

Je suis né et j’ai passé une grande partie de mon enfance au Sénégal d’où m’est venu l’amour pour l’odeur, les couleurs et la fraîcheur de la cuisine de ma grand-mère. J’ai ensuite grandi dans le sud de la France qui est le pays de la gastronomie. J’y ai développé ma passion pour la cuisine et ses saveurs.

Ma première expérience professionnelle dans le monde de la gastronomie remonte à mes seize ans. J’ai travaillé à Monaco pendant plusieurs années, dans de grandes tables telles que le Quai des Artistes, le Café de Paris, Zebra Square ou encore Freddy’s. Autant de belles adresses qui m’ont permis de développer mon amour pour la cuisine méditerranéenne, provençale et italienne.

Ma passion pour la cuisine m’a également permis de voyager à travers le Monde. Premier pays, les Pays-Bas et plus précisément Goes, une petite ville balnéaire au charme atypique. J’ai ensuite eu la chance d’embarquer sur le Crystal Serenity, un paquebot de croisière cinq étoiles où j’y ait découvert les Caraïbes et les Etats-Unis.

Tombé amoureux de New-York, j’ai décidé d’y tenter ma chance. Entré aux cuisines du restaurant Stanton Street Kitchen, j’y ai passé quelques années enchaînant les expériences et les souvenirs. Mon voyage a notamment été marqué par mon entrée chez La Mirabelle, un authentique restaurant français qui m’a donné ma chance et la liberté de démontrer mes talents.  

Une fois la clientèle séduite, j’ai voulu tenter une nouvelle expérience : chef à domicile. Mes clients new-yorkais m’ont fait confiance et m’ont confié leurs cuisines dans lesquelles j’ai pu élaborer de nouvelles recettes et tester de nouvelles saveurs.

Retour aux sources. Retour dans mon Sud chéri. Malgré mes voyages, je n’ai pas oublié mes racines et mon amour pour la cuisine provençale. Installé au restaurant Ogram, rue Dante à Nice, je continue d’apporter ma touche personnelle notamment avec mes plats inspirés de la cuisine sénégalaise. J’aime cuisiner mon Poulet Yassa, un plat mariné dans des oignons, du citron et de la moutarde de Dijon. Une explosion de saveurs pour les papilles de mes fidèles convives.

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

© 2020 par OGRAM Restaurant